Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia

Nominations dominate Third Regular Session

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Congress): February 6, 2008 - The Third Regular Session of the 15th Congress of the Federated State of Micronesia convened in Palikir on Monday - February 4 2008, with nominations topping its agenda.

Among the nominations are two Cabinet posts: Peter M. Christian for the Secretary of the Department of Resources and Development; Midion G. Neth for the Post Master General. Also on the nomination list are three posts in the Department of Foreign Affairs: Ismael Dobich for the Department's Deputy Secretary and Ambassadorial nominations for Yosiwo P. George for FSM's Embassy in Washington DC and John Fritz for the Embassy in Japan.

The nomination of Dr. Rufino Mauricio is also up for the Director of the newly created Office of National Archives, Culture and Historic Preservation. Meanwhile, three more nominations are also noted for various posts at the office of National Elections.

In addition to the nominations, the agenda for the Third Regular Session is also filled with pending bills among which include the modified division formula for Compact funds and a proposed pay increase for all national government employees. These are among the many national issues and matters currently on the agenda of the 15th FSM Congress's Third Regular Session.

The Session's opening day was as usual - the Chambers was filled with officials from national, state and local Governments and interested members of the general public.

Vice President Alik L. Alik and several members of the Cabinet and staff represented the Executive Branch. Newly seated Lt. Governor Churchill Edward of the Pohnpei State Government was also present during the opening session. Observing the Session from the Diplomatic Community, were Ambassador Liu Fei of the People's Republic of China and Charge d'Affaires Toshio Omura of the Embassy of Japan.

Among those witnessing the morning's session was the Kobe Zenchubo Micronesia Economic Mission, a visiting delegation from Japan accompanied by the First Secretary of the FSM Embassy in Japan, Renster Andrew.

Along with the formalities of the opening day, Speaker Figir had also assigned Senator Fredrico O. Primo to chair the Committee to wait on the President with members consisting of the State Delegation Chairmen.

For further information on this release, please contact:

Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia
Public Information Office
P.O Box PS-3
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2324/2325
Fax.: (691) 320-5122