Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia

National Elections underway for members of 17th Congress

Palikir, Pohnpei (FSM Congress): March 8, 2011 - The polls places across the Federated States of Micronesia opened this morning for the 2011 National Elections where twenty three candidate hopefuls are vying to be the States' representatives to the upcoming Seventeenth FSM Congress.

Today's elections will seat in May the 14 members of the new Legislative Body and select from among the seated 14, the President and the Vice President of the Federated States of Micronesia.

As prescribed by Article 10 of the FSM Constitution, the President and Vice President is selected by a majority vote of Congress from among the at-large or four-year term members. The at-large candidates in the 2011 National Elections are:

State of Chuuk

  1. Emanuel (Manny) Mori
  2. Setiro Paul, Incumbent
  3. Anna Asauo Wengu

State of Kosrae

  1. Alik L. Alik
  2. Fred N. Skilling

State of Pohnpei

  1. Peter M. Christian, Incumbent

State of Yap

  1. Vincent A. Figir
  2. Joseph J. Urusemal, Incumbent

The remaining candidates, according to Article Nine of the FSM Constitution, are elected from the congressional districts as apportioned by population in each state and serve a two-year term. The following are the two-year candidates for the Election Districts (ED) in each State:

State of Chuuk

ED One (The Upper, Mid and Lower Mortlock Islands)

  1. Florencio (Singkoro) Harper
  2. Peter S. Sitan, Incumbent
  3. John E. Sound

ED Two (Northern Namoneas: Fono, Piis-Paneu and Weno)

  1. Roger S. Mori, Incumbent
  2. 2. Keiuo S. William

ED Three (Southern Namoneas: Tonoas, Uman, Fefan,Parem and Tsis)

  1. Gillian N. Doone
  2. Bonsiano Fasy Nethon
  3. Charles (Bina) Rienong
  4. Joe N. Suka, Incumbent
  5. Augustina (Akostina) S. Takashy

ED Four (Faichuk Region: Tol, Fanapanges, Eot, Patta, Polle, ROmalum, Udot and Wonei)

  1. Tiwiter Aritos, Incumbent
  2. Arno H. Kony
  3. Pandinus N. Suzuki

ED Five (The Halls and the Northwestern Islands)

  1. Winiplat A. Bisaalen
  2. Tony H. Otto, Incumbent
  3. Asterio R. Takesy

State of Kosrae

ED One

  1. Paliknoa K. Welly, Incumbent

State of Pohnpei

ED One (Sokehs, Kolonia, Sapwuahfik, Nukuoro and Kapingamarangi)

  1. Dohsis Halbert, Incumbent
  2. Ferny S. Perman

ED Two (Madolenihmw and Kitti)

  1. Berney Martin
  2. Dion G. Neth, Incumbent
  3. Naiten O. Phillip

ED Three (U, Nett, Mwoakilloa and Pingelap)

  1. David W. Panuelo
  2. Fredrico O. Primo, Incumbent

State of Yap

ED One

  1. Isaac V. Figir, Incumbent
  2. Larry Raigetal

According to the Office of National Election Commission, the polls across the nation close at 5:00 pm local time. The two Special Polling places also close today but at 9:30 pm, local time.

For further information on this release, please contact:

Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia
Public Information Office
P.O Box PS-3
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2324/2325
Fax.: (691) 320-5122