Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia

FSM Congress News, March 10, 2003

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Congress): March 10, 2003 - The 5th Special Session of the 12th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia was called to order this morning with Speaker Jack Fritz presiding. For the exception of Senator Manny Mori of Chuuk, all other members were present.

As required by the Rules of Procedure of the 12th Congress, the Speaker appointed Floor Leader Joseph Urusemal of Yap as chairman and Senators Jacob Nena of Kosrae, Resio Moses of Pohnpei and Senator Henry Asugar as members of the Special Committee to wait on the President.

FSM President Leo A. Falcam was introduced for recognition along with the resident Ambassadors from Australia, People's Republic of China, the United States of America and the Charge de' Affairs of the Embassy of Japan to the FSM were also introduced as well as members of the president's cabinet who were in the chamber. Speaker Rainsper Lewi of the Sokehs Municipal Council, Rep. Carson Billy of the Chuuk State House of Representatives and other officials and citizens were also introduced for recognition.

On the agenda of the opening day, members were looking at a few presidential communications and one in particular, P.C. No. 12-203 which informs the Congress of the president's item veto of a congressional act that would provide $192,000.00 to supplement the operation of the Congress for fiscal year 2003.

The communication was not discussed, but members agreed to meet tomorrow morning and discussed it in a breakfast sets for 8:30 a.m. at the Cliff Rainbow Restaurant.

Congress took to recess at 10:50 a.m. and will reconvene at 10:00 tomorrow morning March 11.

For further information on this release, please contact:

Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia
Public Information Office
P.O Box PS-3
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2324/2325
Fax.: (691) 320-5122