Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia

Opening Session of new Sixteenth Congress set for May 11

Palikir, Pohnpei (FSM Congress): May 6, 2009 - The Opening Session will seat the recently elected two-year representatives of the four states to the FSM Congress. In addition, as the First Regular Session of the new Sixteenth Congress, Monday's session would also hold a reorganization of the following Congress leadership: Speaker, Vice Speaker, Floor Leader.

Along with the reorganization of the Presiding Officers, the Opening Session would also decide on the Chairmen and members of the six Congressional Committees: the Committee on External Affairs, Committee on Health, Education and Social Affairs; the Committee on Judiciary and Governmental Operations; the Committee on Resources and Development; the Committee on Transportation and Communications and the Committee on Ways and Means.

Congress is inviting the general public to join the Opening Session of the new Congress in Palikir at 10am on Monday, May 11, 2009. Through the FSM Telecommunications Corporations and assistance by the Pohnpei Baptist Radio Station, the event will also be streamed live from Palikir through the state radios and the internet.

For further information on this release, please contact:

Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia
Public Information Office
P.O Box PS-3
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2324/2325
Fax.: (691) 320-5122