Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia

Congress adjourns 2nd Regular Session with passage of FY-08 Budget and confirmation of certain Executive nominations

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Congress): September 28, 2007 - The Second Regular Session of 15th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia adjourned sine-die on Thursday September 27th after passing the National Government Budget for Fiscal Year 2008, confirming certain nominations for the Executive Branch and other pressing national measures.

After extensive hearings and deliberations with National Departments and Agencies, the FSM Congress adopted Congressional Act 15-19 to establish $37, 768,099 as the operation budget for the national government during the 2008 fiscal year. The approved budget also covers the various programs, grants, subsidies and contributions of the National Government and the capital and human resources development.

In addition to the national budget, Congress also addressed several nominations for the departments and offices of the reorganized Branch. Among the nominations that received the blessings of the Congress were those for the two newly created offices under the Executive Reorganization.

Congressional Resolution 15-18, confirmed Andrew R. Yatilman as Director of the new office of Environmental and Emergency Management (EEM). Congressional Resolution 15-12 confirmed Fabian Nimea as Director for the new Office of Statistics, Budget, Overseas Development Assistance and Compact Management (SBOC).

The FSM Congress however, did not confirm the nominations of the following:

Roger S. Mori did not make it as Secretary of the reorganized Department of Resources and Development; Robert W. Spegal did not make it as Secretary of the reorganized Department of Health and Social Affairs; and Gerson Jackson was denied for the position of Deputy Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs.

The other congressional measures adopted during the Second Regular Session are undergoing the legislative transmittal process and anticipated to be completed by the end of the week.

For further information on this release, please contact:

Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia
Public Information Office
P.O Box PS-3
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2324/2325
Fax.: (691) 320-5122