Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia

2005 Congressional Candidates

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Congress): December 13, 2004 - The general election for the FSM Congress two-year term members is scheduled to take place March 8, 2005.

Nomination petitions for those interested to run have been filed at the National Election Commissioner's offices in each of the four states and closed at midnight December 9, 2004.

Five Members will be elected from the five congressional regions in the State of Chuuk. Election District No. 1, the Mortlocks, incumbent Senator Henry C. Asugar is facing off with two challengers; Lander Simor and Peter S. Sidan. Challenging incumbent Senator Roosevelt D. Kansou from Election District No. 2, Weno, Pis-Paneu and Fono, are Anna W. Mijares, Manikis Manny Sonis and Tesime Kofot. In District No. 3, the Southern Namoneas, incumbent Senator Sabino Asor faces Simiram Sipenuk and in the Faichuk area or Election District No. 4, State Senator Willie W-3 Williander is trying to unseat incumbent Senator Tiwiter Aritos. Finally, in the Northwestern region (District No. 5) former State representative Adanasio Smith and State Representative Masachiro Christlib are challenging incumbent Senator Moses Andrew Nelson.

In the State of Kosrae where there is only one representative to be elected, Vice Speaker Clause H. Phillip faces two challengers; Patterson Benjamin and Steven Linus George.

In the State of Pohnpei, only incumbent Senator Dion G. Neth is being challenged by Herman P. Semes and Ponsper Martin in Election District No. 2 (Kitti and Madolenihmw). Incumbent Senators Dohsis Halbert and Speaker Peter M. Christian of Election District No. 1 and 3, respectively, are running unopposed.

Finally, in the farthest western State of Yap, which will also elect only one representative, Mr. Fidelis Thiyer is trying to unseat incumbent Senator Isaac V. Figir.

A nomination of a substitute candidate should be made 60 days before March 8, the election day and all request for absentee ballot or to vote outside of your legal state should be made no later than 60 days before the election day, according to the office of the FSM National Election Director.

The Sixth Special Session of the Thirteenth Congress will convene today in the State of Yap, first time a congressional session ever takes place in Yap.

President Joseph J. Urusemal and members of his cabinet are in Yap to attend the session.

For further information on this release, please contact:

Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia
Public Information Office
P.O Box PS-3
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2324/2325
Fax.: (691) 320-5122