Yap's Urusemal Elected President of FSM

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (Marianas Variety): May 12, 2003 - Joseph J. Urusemal of Yap has been selected the sixth president of the Federated States of Micronesia during the Saturday morning opening session of the 13th FSM Congress.

Following Associate Justice Dennis Yamase's administration of the oath of office to the newly elected senators, the FSM Congress proceeded to reorganize the national leadership with these changes.

With Urusemal in the president's seat, the Congress maintained Sen. Redley Killion of Chuuk as the nation's vice president while Sen. Peter M. Christian of Pohnpei was selected the speaker.

Sen. Claude H. Phillip of Kosrae also maintained the vice speaker's seat with Sen. Henry Asugar of Chuuk taking on the role of floor leader.

Associate Justice Martin Yinug administered the oath of office to the nation's president and vice president.

The reorganization of the new Congress was witnessed by a packed chamber that included the leaderships from all sectors of the nation traditional, community, religious and government.