Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Yap State inaugurates new Leadership

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): January 10, 2007 - On January 8 2007, the State of Yap inaugurated a new Leadership for both the Executive and Legislative Branches.

Sebastian L. Anefal has become the Fifth Governor for the State of Yap with Tony Tareq as the Lt. Governor

Governor Anefal had, since 1995, worked with the Government of the Federated States of Micronesia in various top posts beginning with being the Secretary of the Department of Resource and Development to being the Secretary of the Department of Economic Affairs. Prior to the Governorship, Anefal was the Secretary for the Department of the Foreign Affairs, serving as the nation's top diplomat.

Along with Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch also inaugurated a changeover of Leadership comprised of the following: Speaker - Charles S. Chieng, Vice Speaker - Sabino Sauchomal and Floor Leader - John Mooteb.

The composition of the Legislative Committees are:

Finance Committee:
Chairman- Sen. Clement Mulalap
Vice Chairman- Sen. Raymond Igechep
Member- Sen. Joseph Giliko

Government, Health & Welfare Committee:
Chairman- Sen. - Henry Falan
Vice Chairman- Jesse Raglmar-Subolmar
Member- Sen. Sabino Sauchomal

Resource, Education and Development Committee:
Chairman- Sen. Ted Rutun
Vice Chairman- Sen. John Masiwemai
Member- Sen. John Mooteb

Leaders and officials from the FSM National Government and Governments of the other 4 states, along with Leaders from the Micronesian region attended the Inauguration Ceremonies for Yap State.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356