Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

President Emanuel Mori Submits Further Nominations for Advice and Consent

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Services): January 15, 2008 - By January 14, 2008, FSM President Emanuel Mori, in two separate transmittal letters had presented to the 15th Congress of the FSM, nominations for eight government leadership positions.

In his transmittal letters he said that Vice President Alik and he had agreed to send their nominations ahead of the Third Regular Session of Congress to allow the FSM Congress sufficient time for consideration of the nominations.

The nominations are as follows:

  1. Dr. Rufino Mauricio of Pohnpei as Director of the new FSM Archive, Cultural and Historic Preservation Office;

  2. Mr. Yosiwo P. George of Kosrae as the next FSM Ambassador to the United States of America;

  3. Mr. John Fritz of Chuuk as the next FSM Ambassador to Japan;

  4. Mr. Peter M. Christian of Pohnpei as Secretary of the Department of Resources and Development;

  5. Mr. Midion G. Neth of Pohnpei as the next FSM Post Master General;

  6. Mr. Ismael Dobich of Chuuk as the next Deputy Secretary for the Department of Foreign Affairs;

  7. Mr. Kimeuo Kimiuo of Chuuk as the next FSM National Election Director; and

  8. Mr. Johnathon John of Pohnpei as the next National Election Commissioner for Pohnpei State

The President urged Congress to favorably consider the nominations.

President Mori said in his transmittal letter that additional nominations for the remaining departments, offices, or boards and commissions will be submitted shortly upon confirmation of the availability of the prospective candidates.

The Third Regular Session of the 15th Congress of the FSM is scheduled to begin on February 12, 2008.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356