Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Ambassador Weishaupt of Germany joins FSM's diplomatic family

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): February 15, 2005 - On February 1 2005, Ambassador Axel Weishaupt of the Federal Republic of Germany became his country's fourth representative to the Federated States of Micronesia since the establishment of diplomatic ties in 1992.

Dr. Weishaupt is the newest addition to FSM's expanding family of diplomats accredited to the nation of which 15 are non-resident representatives and four resident representatives in Pohnpei at their respective embassies of Australia, China, Japan and the United States.

The resident representatives in Pohnpei are: Ambassador Corrine Tompkinson of the Australia Embassy, Ambassador Yang Qiang of the Embassy of the People's Republic of China, Chargé d'Affaires Toshio Omura of the Embassy of Japan and Ambassador Suzanne K. Hale of the United States Embassy.

Along with Germany's Ambassador Weishaupt, other recent non-resident representatives accredited to the FSM include: the State of Israel's Ambassador Michael Ronen (October 20, 2004) and French Ambassador Eugene Berg (December 15, 2004).

The FSM has to date, established diplomatic relations with 57 countries. Those counties, in chronological order of ties, are:

1986 - The United States;

1987 - Republic of the Marshall Islands and Republic of Nauru;

1988 - Tuvalu, New Zealand, Australia, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, State of Israel, Republic of Kiribati and Japan;

1989 - Republic of the Philippines, Kingdom of Tonga, and the People's Republic of China;

1990 - Independent State of Samoa, Republic of Chile, Solomon Islands and Vanuatu;

1991 - Republic of Korea, Republic of Indonesia, Singapore and Maldives;

1992 - Brunei, Thailand, Federal Republic of Germany, Republic of Cyprus, Republic of Peru, Kingdom of Spain, Austria, Malaysia, Kingdom of Sweden, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Republic of Colombia and Italy;

1993 - French Republic, Republic of Guatemala and the Republic of Argentina;

1994 - The Holy See (Vatican City) and the Republic of Palau;

1995 - Portugal, Cambodia and Vietnam;

1996 - The Netherlands, Republic of Greece, Belgium, Republic of India and the Republic of South Africa;

1997 - the Sovereign Military Order of Malta;

1998 - Canada;

1999 - Russian Federation, Ukraine and Republic of Croatia;

2001 - Mexico;

2003 - Switzerland; and

2004 - Iceland, Czech Republic, Ireland and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356