Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Declaration of Winning Candidates for the FSM Congressional Election

Palikir, Pohnpei (FSM Information Services): March 16, 2009 - On Friday, March 13, 2009, the FSM National Election Director, Mr. Kimeuo Kimiuo, certified the winning candidates for the FSM Congressional Election that was held on March 3, 2009 with a transmission letter addressed to President Manny Mori. In the letter, Mr. Kimiuo stated he is "convinced that the supervision and conduct of the said election throughout the FSM Nation and abroad as mandated by Title 9FSMC, and all provisions followed accordingly." And that, "I am also convinced that the transmitted Certification and Declaration Election Results to my office by the four Commissioners are the true outcomes of the election results for the whole FSM Nation."

But not all Election Districts were certified. Election District #5- Northwest Region, Chuuk State was not submitted due to irregularities. The Director stated in his letter that, "it is my solemn duty to uphold and protect the principles of democracy for the nation and the supervision and administration of the election integrity and credibility at all times. Thus, because of some election results irregularity in Election District #5, I am withholding my certification for the winning candidate for said election district, until the election results irregularity is resolved." In previous, unofficial results, Mr. Tony Otto led Election District #5 - Chuuk State over the incumbent, Senator Moses Nelson. The difference between these two candidates was 25 votes.

According to the declaration, the certified winning candidates are as follows:

Chuuk State:

  1. Mr. Peter S. Sitan - Election District #1

  2. Mr. Roger Mori - Election District #2

  3. Mr. Joe N. Suka - Election District #3

  4. Mr. Tiwiter Aritos - Election District #4

Pohnpei State:

  1. Mr. Dohsis Halbert - Election District #1

  2. Mr. Dion G. Neth - Election District #2

  3. Mr. Fredrico Primo - Election District #3

Yap State:

  1. Mr. Isaac V. Figir - Single District

Kosrae State:

  1. Mr. Paliknoa K. Welly - Single District

The certification for the winning candidate for Election District #5 - Northwest Region shall be made after alleged irregularities are considered and fully resolved.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356