Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Nena urged State Governors to Provide Information on El Niño

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Information Service): May 5, 1998 - President Jacob Nena has communicated to the State Governors regarding the declaration by US President William Clinton of major disaster areas in the FSM which excluded main islands of Weno, Pohnpei and Kosrae in April 27, 1998.

In the April 3rd declaration, the islands of Oroluk, Pakin in Pohnpei State and Parem, Etten, Piis-Pareu and Pollap in Chuuk State will be considered part of the original declaration, Nena stated. This was the result of a number of meetings between FEMA and states and national governments representatives.

FEMA will consider inclusion of the main islands upon receipt of information showing changes for the worse in the conditions of the affected islands, Nena stated.

The islands of Pohnpei, Kosrae and Weno were not included in the original declaration because these islands were not reported in the initial request made by the FSM Government.

The information gathered by the FEMA survey team through the FSM National El Niño Task Force upon which the declaration was based, excludes the adverse draught effects on those islands in spite of the visible adverse effects of the draught on the population and the food crops.

The letter was addressed to Kosrae Governor Mackwelung, Pohnpei's Del Pangelinan and Chuuk's Ansito Walter.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356