Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Fourteenth FSM Congress convenes Wednesday

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Services): May 9, 2005 - The Fourteenth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia has scheduled its Opening Session for May 11 2005, at 3pm.

The legislative body will devote its opening day to reviewing the credentials of the elected two-year representatives to Congress and selecting of its Speaker, Vice Speaker and Floor Leader.

The two-year state representatives to the national body are, from their respective States:

District 1 - Peter S. Sitan;
District 2 - Roosevelt Kansou;
District 3 - Simiram Sipenuk;
District 4 - Tiwiter Aritos; and
District 5 - Moses Nelson.

1. Claude H. Phillip

District 1. Peter M. Christian;
District 2. Dohsis Halbert; and
District 3. Dion G. Neth.

1. Isaac V. Figir

The remaining four are the at-large members or the four-year state representatives to the national Congress which include, from Chuuk: Manny Mori, Kosrae: Alik Alik, Pohnpei: Resio S. Moses and Ramon Peyal from Yap.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356