Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Urusemal sixth President of FSM

Palikir, Pohnpei (FSM Information Service): May 11, 2003 - Joseph J. Urusemal of Yap State has been selected the sixth President of the Federated States of Micronesia during this mornings opening session of the Thirteenth Congress.

Following Associate Justice Dennis Yamase's administration of Oath of Office to the newly elected Senators, the Thirteenth Congress of the FSM proceeded to reorganize the national leadership with these changes:

With Urusemal in the President's seat, the Congress maintained Senator Redley Killion of Chuuk as the nation's Vice President while Senator Peter M. Christian of Pohnpei was selected the Speaker of the new Congress. Senator Claude H. Phillip of Kosrae also maintained the Vice Speaker seat with Senator Henry Asugar of Chuuk taking on the role of Floor Leader.

Associate Justice Martin Yinug administered the Oath of Office to the nation's President and Vice President.

The reorganization of the new Congress was witnessed by a packed Chamber that included the leaderships from all sectors of the nation: traditional, community, religious and government.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356