Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

President submits nominations to Congress

Palikir, POHNPEI(FSM Information Services): May 23, 2005 - President Joseph J. Urusemal has submitted six nominations for consideration by the 14th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia.

The nominations include: two Cabinet positions, one Judiciary and three for the newest addition to the Executive Branch, the Office of Compact Management.

President Urusemal has nominated for his Cabinet posts: Mr. Akillino H. Susaia, for the Secretary of the Department of Economic Affairs and Ms. Marstella E. Jack, for the Secretary of the Department of Justice.

Mr. Camillo Noket is nominated for Associate Justice for the FSM Supreme Court.

The President has nominated the following leadership for the new Office of Compact Management. Mr. Epel K. Ilon is to head the office as the Director with Mr. Sebastian L. Anefal and Mr. Nick L. Andon as FSM's national representatives on the Board.

President Urusemal's letter to Speaker Peter M. Christian notes the Congress's favorable consideration of the nominees will "help this Government move forward."

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356