Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Ten vie for Congress seats

POHNPEI, Palikir (FSM Information Service): June 3, 2003 - The Office of the National Election Director announces that 10 petitions have been filed for the vacated seats in the Thirteenth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia.

The following candidate hopefuls are vying for the four-year or the At-large seat vacated by President Joseph J. Urusemal and Vice President Redley Killion during their move to the Executive Branch:


1. Jack Fritz;
2. Emanuel (Manny) Mori;
3. Johnny Meippen;
4. Siwiter Sachuo.


1. Vincent A. Figir;
2. Simion Maluwelmeng;
3. John A. Mangefel;
4. Ramon Peyal;
5. Larry Raigetal;
6. Paul Yafwemog.

The Congress Special Election is slated for July 1, 2003.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356