Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Election Result for Chuuk ED #2 Officially Declared and Certified

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): June 3, 2008 - On May 30, 2008 National Election Director Kimeuo Kimiuo, declared and certified Mr. Tesime Kofot winner of the Chuuk Congressional special election for Election District #2.held May 27, 2008 pursuant to Public Law No. 14-76, Section 60, Subsection 711(1).

The election result was sent to President Manny Mori for his information and further exploitation on the same date.

The result is as follows: Mr. Tesime Kofot came in the first place with the total votes of 1, 563. Mr. Mark M. Mailo came in second with 1, 443 votes. Third came Mr. Roger S. Mori with 1, 260 votes, and fourth was Mr. Tos A. Nakayama with 708 votes, and finally, Mr. Les D. Aidel who received 36 votes.

The Special Election went very smooth and orderly, according to Acting Commissioner Dobich, and it was clearly shown from all indications that Mr. Tesime Kofot cleanly won the election.

Now the result is official and Mr. Tesime Kofot is the winner.

For more information, please conduct the Chuuk National Election Office at: (691) 330-5852 or Email:

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356