Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

National elections office certifies candidates for upcoming Special Elections

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): June 5, 2007 - The Office of the National Election Director has transmitted to President Emanuel Mori the list of official candidates for the upcoming Special Elections on July 3, 2007.

Voters from the States of Chuuk and Kosrae will revisit the polls in July to, once again, elect their at-large or four-year representatives to the 15th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia. The two seats were vacated when President Emanuel (Manny) Mori from Chuuk and Vice President Alik L. Alik from Kosrae were sworn into their current roles.

According to the office of the National Elections Director, the following are the official candidates on the election ballot for the upcoming Special Election.

The State of Chuuk

1. Johnny Meippen
2. Mark (Macky) Mailo
3. Masao Nakayama
4. Moulten Soukik Sellet
5. Redley Killion
6. Setiro Paul
7. Steve Mori
8. Willie W-3 Williander

From the States of Kosrae

1. Ben Jessee
2. Canny L. Palsis
3. Claude. Phillip
4. Lyndon H. Jackson
5. Renster P. Andrew

With reference to the Special Elections, the 15th FSM Congress adopted a Bill to reduce the number of days previously allowed for the special polling places in Guam and Honolulu to be open. During the March 2007 national elections, an override had allowed the special polling places in Guam and Honolulu to remain open for seven days, including Election Day.

The adopted Bill allowed for the special polling places to open only on Election Day, but with increase in polling hours - from 7:00 am to 9:30 pm.

For more information on the Special Elections and its various timelines, please contact the following details:

Office of the National Elections Director
P.O. Box 1685
Kolonia, Pohnpei FM 96941
Telephone: (691) 320-4283
Facsimile: (691) 320-7534