Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Presidential Nominations

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Information Service): June 13, 1997 - On June 5, 1997, President Jacob Nena transmitted to Congress Speaker Jack Fritz his nominations for various vacant cabinet posts for advice and consent (by) Congress.

Before adjourning the First Regular Session of the 10th Congress on June 10, Congress confirmed the nominations of Max Mallarme as National Election Director and Moses Santos as National Election Commissioner for the State of Pohnpei.

The nominations of Camillo Noket for Attorney General; John Ehsa as Secretary of Finance; Sebastian Anefal as Secretary of Resources and Development; Dr. Eliuel Pretrick as Secretary of Health Services; Joseph Phillip as Public Defender; Patrick Mackenzie as Director of the Office of Budget; Bethwel Henry as Postmaster General; Kapilly Capelle as Director of Administrative Services; Wilton Mackwelung. as FSM Consul General in Guam; Kasio Mida as FSM Consul General in Hawaii; Ringlen Ringlen as Deputy Chief of Mission at the FSM Embassy in Washington, D.C.; Tadao Sigrah as Deputy Chief of Mission at the FSM Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York; James Naich as Deputy Chief of Mission at the FSM Embassy in Tokyo, Japan; and Gabriel Ayin as Deputy Chief of Mission at the FSM Embassy in Suva, Fiji, are still pending before Congress. President Nena has requested favorable consideration of Congress on his nominations.

The President, however, has not made his nominations for Secretary of Transportation and Communication Department, Secretary and Deputy Secretary of the Department of External Affairs, Secretary of Education and the National Planner.

Meanwhile, on June 6, 1997, President Nena informed Congress Speaker Jack Fritz that he will be calling for a Special Session for Congress to consider his nominations which he was late in submitting to Congress. Timing of such a Special Session needs to be worked out to fit everyone's schedule.

Nena added that he will b submitting for the consideration of Congress the Second Phase of Restructuring of the FSM Government dealing with the Private Sector Assistance and Infrastructures in the States; the establishment of a FSM Trust Fund; the Implementation of the Early Retirement Program and its schedule; and the Hosting of the South Pacific Forum - 1998.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356