Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Recent Congress session adopts 33 resolutions

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Services): June 18, 2004 - The 13th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia adjourned its Third Regular Session with 33 adopted Resolutions ranging from confirmations, national budget to ratification of the amended Compact.

The ratification of the amended Compact led the numerical listing of the Resolutions:

  1. Congressional Resolution (C.R.) 13-27, ratification of the amended Compact of Free Association between the FSM and the U.S.;

  2. C.R. 13-58, accession to the amendments to the agreement relating to the International Telecommunications Satellite Organization, and for other purposes;

  3. C.R. 13-80, creation of a special Congress committee to investigate alleged conducts of corruption in office and abuse of power at the Executive Branch of the FSM Government;

  4. Resolutions 13-101 and 13-102, referenced the Japan-FSM Parliamentarian Friendship League in which Congress conveyed profound gratitude and sincere appreciation to outgoing Chairman Toshio Nakayama and welcomed newly seated Chairman Yoshiro Mori;

  5. C.R. 13-105, authorization for use of a formula for sharing of FY-2005 Compact funds among the national government and the states for purposes of submittal to the Joint Economic Management Committee;

  6. C.R. 13-108, invitation to the President of the Federated States of Micronesia to address the ratification of the amended Compact.

  7. C.R. 13-110, approval of the 2003/2004 "goods and services" agreement between the National Oceanic Resource Management Authority (NORMA) and the noted fishing associations of Japan;

  8. C.R. 13-114, establishment of the FY-05 Budget ceiling to $28,360,949 of which, $21,786,949 would be from domestic revenues and $6,574,000 from the amended Compact.

  9. C.R. 13-122, approval of the FSM Infrastructure Development Plan (IDP) beginning with FY-2004 period to FY-2023, and for other purposes;

  10. C.R. 13-123, denouncing unconstitutional practices by the FSM Department of Justice and repeated acts of unlawful prosecutorial misconduct by Assistant Attorney General Mathew Crabtree;

  11. C.R. 13-126, shortening the Third Regular Session of the 13th FSM Congress to 25 days, instead of the 30-days of a regular sessions.

In addition, Congress adopted two resolutions to first thank Kathleen Rittner for her "many years of service, commitment and dedication" as an employee of the FSM Congress. And the second, designated Bradley D. Stam as the Legislative Counsel to the FSM Congress.

Through Resolutions, the FSM Congress also confirmed, with the exception of the nomination for the Departments of Justice and Economic Affairs, the following Executive nominations:

  1. for FSM's Diplomatic Offices:

    • Tadao P. Sigrah as the Consul General of the FSM Consulate Office in Honolulu; and

    • James A. Naich as Deputy Chief of Mission to the Washington Embassy.

  2. to the Board of the National Oceanic Resource Management Authority (NORMA):

    • Lorin S. Robert - National Government;
    • Johnny Meippen - Chuuk State;
    • Nena S. Nena - Kosrae State;
    • Hubert K. Yamada - Pohnpei State; and
    • Francis I. Itimai - Yap State.

  3. with the exception of Chuuk, the following National Elections Commissioners were confirmed:

    • Kun Olter for Kosrae State;
    • Seberiano Barnabas for Pohnpei State; and
    • John Chugan for Yap State.

  4. also confirmed are the nominations for William F. Hawley as Pohnpei's representative on the FSM Banking Board; Jane Elymore as Kosrae's representative on the National Government Employees Health Insurance Plan Board of Directors; and John Sound as Chuuk's representative on the College of Micronesia-FSM Board of Regents.

  5. finally, several resolutions were adopted to address the length of terms for the Board of Directors of the National Government Employees Health Insurance Plan:

    • Carl D. Apis (National) to one year;
    • Marcus Samo (Chuuk) to two years;
    • Simao Nanpei (Pohnpei) to two years;
    • Ignatius Manglay (Yap) to three years; and
    • Dr. Merlynn Abello-Alfonso to three years.

The Third Regular Session of the 13th FSM Congress adjourned on June 4, 2004.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356