Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Special election for FSM Congress set for July 3

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): June 29, 2007 - The Office of the National Elections Commission is geared up for the Special Elections for the 15th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia scheduled for Tuesday - July 3, 2007.

The office encourages voters of the States of Chuuk and Kosrae to vote for their at-large or four-year representatives to the 15th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia. The two seats were vacated when President Emanuel (Manny) Mori from Chuuk and Vice President Alik L. Alik from Kosrae moved to the Executive Branch.

The certified candidates for the upcoming election are as listed.

From the State of Chuuk:

1. Johnny Meippen
2. Mark (Macky) Mailo
3. Masao Nakayama
4. Moulten Soulik Sellet
5. Redley Killion
6. Setiro Paul
7. Steve Mori
8. Willie W-3 Williander

From the States of Kosrae:

1. Ben Jessee
2. Canny L. Palsis
3. Claude. Phillip
4. Lyndon H. Jackson
5. Renster P. Andrew

The office wishes to remind the voters at the special polling places in Guam and Honolulu that the polling places will only be open on Election Day and with extra hours - from 7:00 am to 9:30 pm.

For more information on the Special Elections and its various timelines, please contact the following details:

Office of the National Elections Director
P.O. Box 1685
Kolonia, Pohnpei FM 96941
Telephone: (691) 320-4283
Facsimile: (691) 320-7534