Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

National elections office certifies results of Special Elections

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): July 6, 2007 - The Office of the National Election Director has transmitted to President Manny Mori the winning candidates of the Special Election held on July 3, 2007

Voters from the States of Chuuk and Kosrae revisited the polls July 3, 2007 to once again, elect their at-large or four-year representatives to the 15th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia. The two seats were vacated when President Emanuel (Manny) Mori from Chuuk and Vice President Alik L. Alik from Kosrae were sworn into their current roles.

According to the National Elections Director, the following are the certified results of Tuesday's elections:

For the State of Chuuk:

Setiro Paul - 3,599
Steve Mori - 3,448
Redley Killion - 3,333
Mark Mailo - 3,192
Willie W-3 Williander - 3,191
Moulten Soulik Sellet - 978
Johnny Meippen - 168
Masao Nakayama - 111

Candidates Johnny Meippen and Masao Nakayama wanted to have their names withdrawn but filed after the deadline therefore their names remained on the ballots.

In the State of Kosrae, the following are the certified results:

Claude H. Phillip - 1,078
Renster P. Andrew - 919
Canny L. Palsis - 697
Ben Jesse - 414
Lyndon H. Jackson - 347

According to the Office of National Elections Commission, the candidates have a week after certification to challenge the certified results.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356