Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Presidential Order 30 establishes FSM infrastructure committee

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Services): August 18, 2006 - President Joseph J. Urusemal, through Presidential Order No. 30, establishes for the Federated States of Micronesia an Infrastructure Planning and Implementation Committee(FSM-IPIC).

The FSM-IPIC is expected to coordinate and facilitate the implementation of all projects collectively identified in the National Infrastructure Development Plan (IDP). A Plan that was developed to facilitate the effective utilization of infrastructure sector grants as conditioned in the Amended Compact of Free Association.

With each State's created IPIC, the FSM-IPIC would overall- coordinate efforts of implementing the IDP.

Presidential Order No.30 has designated the seven-member FSM-IPIC to be comprised of:

Secretary, FSM Department of Transportation, Communications & Infrastructure or designee;
Secretary, FSM Department of Economic Affairs or designee;
Director, Office of Compact Management or designee;
Chairperson, Chuuk State IPIC;
Chairperson, Kosrae State IPIC;
Chairperson, Pohnpei State IPIC; and
Chairperson, Yap State IPIC.

The FSM Department of TC&I is to serve as the Secretariat of the newly created FSM-IPIC.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356