Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Executive nominations before Special Session

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Information Services): August 26, 2003 - The Thirteenth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia convened on August 25 2003 for its Second Special Session.

Speaker Peter M. Christian, noted in his letter to the President Joseph J. Urusemal, that the five-day Special Session is called for the purpose of "reviewing the Fiscal-Year 2004 budget and other important measures pending before this body."

Among the measure pending before the Thirteenth Congress, are the nominations for the Cabinet line-up of the new Administration. Nominations to Head the major Departments and Offices under the Executive Branch include:

  1. Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) - Sebastian Anefal;

  2. Department of Justice (DOJ) - Paul McIlrath;

  3. Department of Finance and Administration (F&A) - Nick L. Andon;

  4. Department of Health, Education and Social Services (HESA) - Dr. Jefferson B. Benjamin;

  5. Department of Economic Affairs (DEA) - Patrick Mackenzie;

  6. Department of Transportation, Communications and Infrastructure (TC&I) - Akillino H. Susaia; and

  7. Office of Public Defender (OPD) - Beauleen Carl-Worswick;

  8. Department of Foreign Affairs - Lorin Robert, for the post of Deputy Secretary.

Until all the nominations are confirmed by Congress, the major Departments and Offices of the Executive Branch are headed by the following:

  1. DFA - Acting Secretary, David W. Panuelo;

  2. DOJ - Acting Secretary, Harry A. Seymour;

  3. F&A - Acting Secretary, Ihlen K. Joseph;

  4. HESA - Acting Secretary, Dr. Rufino Mauricio;

  5. DEA - Acting Secretary, Ismael Lebehn;

  6. TC&I - Acting Secretary, Weiner Hadley;

  7. OPD - Acting Chief Public Defender, Vincent Kallop.

Other executive nominations pending before the Thirteenth Congress include:

  • Bethwel Henry - Post Master General;

  • Kandhi Eliesar - Ambassador to the Government of Japan;

  • John S. Fritz - Deputy Chief of Mission, Tokyo;

  • James Naich - Deputy Chief of Mission, Washington D.C.;

  • Gabriel Ayin - Deputy Chief of Mission, Fiji;

  • Tadao P. Sigrah - Deputy Permanent Representative, New York;

  • Kasio Mida - Consul General, Honolulu;

  • Samson Pretrick - Consul General, Guam.

The nominations will be addressed during the various Public Hearings scheduled by the Standing Committees of the Thirteenth Congress.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356