Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Nena Swore In Members of His Cabinet

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Information Service): August 25, 1997 - FSM President Jacob Nena administered the oaths of office to the newly confirmed members of his cabinet in a ceremony held in the Central Facility Building at the FSM Capital on August 20, 1997.

Sworn-in in the folowing order were Epel Ilon as the Secretary and Ieske Iehsi as Deputy Secretary, Department of External Affairs; John Ehsa, Secretary of the Department of Finance; Sebastian Anefal, Secretary of the Department of Resources and Development; Lukner B. Weilbacher, Secretary of the Department of Transportation and Communication; Dr. Eliuel K. Pretrick, Secretary of the Department of Health Services and Dr. Catalino Cantero, Secretary of the Department of Education.

The President also administered oaths to heads of offices beginning with Camillo Noket, Esq., as the Attorney General; Patrick Mackenzie, Director of Budget; Kapilly Capelle, Director of the Office of Administrative Services; Bermin F. Weilbacher, National Planner; Joseph Phillip, Esq., Public Defender; Bethwel Henry, Post Master General and Max Mallarme, National Election Director.

In an impromptu remarks for the occasion by Vice President Leo Falcam, he reminded the appointees that they are taking the oaths of their respective offices while "we are witnesses." He called for a renewed spirit with readiness to do more work, saying that he and the President will talk with each member at a later time. He warned, however, that when a Cabinet Officer is frequently called, it means something is wrong, if not, he is doing well.

The ceremony was conducted by President's Office Protocol Officer, Mrs. Karmerina Yamada, the invocation was offered by Pastor Steven Malakai, Assembly of God Church in Madolenihmw and the Benediction was offered by Pastor Isamn Welles of the Calvery Baptist Church in Kolonia and two musical numbers were presented by the Asssembly of god Church of Madolenihmw singers.

The ceremony was attended by Congress Speaker Jack Fritz, Chief Justice Andon Amaraich, FSM Supreme Court, Dean and Members of the Diplomatic Corps, dignitaries, National Government employees and spouses and friends of the cabinet officers.

A reception was held immediately following the ceremony with a wide variety of dishes contributed by employees of the national government.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356