Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

STAP Award Scholarship Assistance to COM-FSM Students

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): August 29, 2008 - According to the COM-FSM President's Update #315, six COM-FSM students have received the Samalang Tagalog Atbp. sa Ponapean (STAP) scholarship assistance. Each student will receive $500.00 for school year 2008-2009 and is payable at $250 per semester.

The recipients of this school year's STAP award are: Christopher Delcampo, Meleener Elias, Fritz Gallen, Warren De Martin Neth Lebehn, Grace Ann Tobin and LaShauna Wilson.

STAP is a regional association of Filipinos in Pohnpei whose primary purpose is to encourage Micronesian citizens to pursue a post high school education through its scholarship assistance program. Application forms and guidelines are available online and nay be downloaded from:

The Awarding ceremony was held on August 5, 2008 at the China Star Restaurant where the COM-FSM president Mr. Spensin James conveyed appreciation and gratitude to the Filipino Association for its support both to the College and to the students.

The president of the STAP Association is Mr. Rafael Pulmano and Mr. Freddie Ricafrente is the STAP Founding President and chair of the Scholarship committee. Both were at the award ceremony to congratulate the recipients of this year's award.

In another development:
Two thousand, two hundred, ninety seven (2,297) students registered at the five COM-FSM campuses during the week of August 11-13, 2008. This is a decrease of 5% compared to the 2007 enrolment.

As of August 18, 2008 the enrolment in each campus was as follows: National Campus - 897 students, Chuuk Campus - 388 students, Kosrae Campus - 210 students, Pohnpei Campus - 609 students, and Yap Campus - 192 students.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356