Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Congress denies 2 Cabinet appointees

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Information Service): September 5, 2003 - Two Cabinet nominees have been denied during the Second Special Session of the Thirteenth Congress of the Federated States Micronesia.

The Second Special Session adjourned sine-die today without approving the nominations of Paul McIlrath for the Department of Justice and Patrick Mackenzie for the Department of Economic Affairs. Also denied was the nomination of Kandhi Elieisar for the Ambassador to Japan post.

The approved nominations are:

  1. Secretary Sebastian Anefal and Deputy Secretary Lorin S. Robert for Department of Foreign Affairs;

  2. Secretary Nick L. Andon for the Department of Finance and Administration;

  3. Secretary Dr. Jefferson B. Benjamin for the Department of Health, Education and Social Services;

  4. Secretary Akillino H. Susaia for the Department of Transportation, Communications and Infrastructure;

  5. Chief Public Defender Beauleen Carl-Worswick for the Office of Public Defender, and

  6. Post Master General Bethwel Henry for the FSM Postal Services.

The nomination of Midion G. Neth for Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health, Education and Social Services has been deferred to Congress's next regular session in October 2003.

For the nation's overseas missions, Congress approved Kasio Mida as the Consul General of FSM's consulate office in Hawaii and Samson Pretrick as the Consul General of the consulate office in Guam. The remaining nominations for the Deputy Chief of Missions of the overseas offices have been deferred the next regular session of the Thirteenth Congress of the FSM.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356