Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Congress Confirms Four of President Mori's Nominations

Palikir, Pohnpei (FSM Information Services): September 30, 2009 - As previously reported, President Mori transmitted several nominations for various appointments to the 16th FSM Congress during their current Second Regular Session, and Congress has approved four of his nominations.

So far, Congress has approved Mr. Marcus Samo to be the Chuuk State representative to the MiCare Board, Mr. Salpasr Tilfas to be the Kosrae State representative to the MiCare Board, Mr. Kandhi Elieisar to be the National Government representative to the National Oceanic Resource Management Authority (NORMA) Board, and Mr. Henry Robert to be the National Election Commissioner for Kosrae State.

In addition to the seven remaining nominations that have been previously sent to Congress, President Mori has also recently transmitted the nomination of Mr. Churchill Edward, Lt. Governor of Pohnpei State, to become a member of the Board of Regents of the College of Micronesia-FSM. In his letter to Speaker Figir seeking favorable consideration of this nomination, President Mori states that he has confidence that Mr. Edward has the qualifications to be an effective member on the board considering his extensive experience in the field of education and public service.

The Second Regular Session is slated to end on Saturday, October 3rd, 2009, so there is still time for Congress to act on the remaining nominations.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356