Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

President Mori Signs the FY08 Budget

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Services): October 5, 2007 - The 15th Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia concluded it's second regular session on September 27, 2007 with passage of the National Government Budget for Fiscal Year 2008.

The approved budget provides funding for the operations of all branches of the National Government, it's agencies various programs, grants, subsidies and contributions and capital and human resources development budget.

Congress also confirmed two of President Mori's nominations to head the two newly created offices under the Executive Reorganization; Mr. Andrew R. Yatilman as Director of Environmental and Emergency Management (EEM), and Mr. Fabian Nimea as Director of Office of Statistics, Budget, Overseas Development Assistance and Compact Management (SBOC).

Presidential nominees who were not confirmed by the FSM Congress during it's second regular session, and they are as follow: Mr. Roger S. Mori as Secretary of the Department of Resources and Development, Mr. Robert W. Spegal as Secretary of the new Department of Health and Social Affairs, and Mr. Gerson Jackson as Deputy Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356