Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Another six cabinet members sworn in

Palikir, Pohnpei (FSM Information Services): October 7, 2011 - President Manny Mori has received his six newest cabinet members and spared no time by moving ahead with their swearing in ceremony at 9:00am today, October 7, at the President's Conference Room.

Mr. Julius Joey Sapelalut, Directing Attorney of the Public Defender Office, Mr. Albert T. Welly, Director of National Election Office, Mr. Haser Hainrick, Director of National Public Auditor's Office, Mr. Francis Itimai, Secretary of the Department of Transportation, Communication and Infrastructure, Dr. Rufino Mauricio, Secretary of the Department of Education, and Ms. Evelyn Adolph, Director of the Office of SBOC received their oath of office administered by President Mori in the presence of Vice President Alik L. Alik, other cabinet members, office staff as well as family members of the newly installed officials.

In his brief welcome and congratulatory remarks to the new cabinet members and the witnesses of the occasion, President Mori expressed his appreciation of the turn out of the usually lengthy and tiresome process of confirming nominations. He also thanked the group of six and their families for their patience and understanding, especially the past four days and impressed upon them the need to move on in ensuring stability and leadership at their respective offices and departments in a timely manner.

As of press time, eleven of the seventeen confirmed cabinet members have taken their oath of office with another six having no set date for their turn to be sworn in.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356