Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

President signed Agreement for Tuna Commission

PALIKIR, Pohnpei (FSM Information Service): November 22, 2005 - On November 18, 2005 President Urusemal signed the Headquarters agreement between the Federated States of Micronesia and the Commission for the conservation and management of highly migratory fish stocks in the western and central pacific.

The signing, which signifies the Government's strong commitment to host the headquarters of the Commission, was held in the Presidents' cabinet room in Palikir following call on the President by the Executive Director of the Commission, Mr. Andrew Wright. During the call, the President formally extended his warm welcome to Mr. Wright to the FSM and his wish to see a very engaged, interactive and productive working relationship between the Commission and the FSM Government in the many years to come.

Mr. Wright echoed the same sentiment and conveyed his appreciation for assistance rendered by the FSM Government in preparation for the Commission's upcoming meetings to be held in Pohnpei in December 2005.

Present in the call as well as the signing were Vice-President Killion, Ms. Marstella Jack, Secretary of the Department of Justice, Mr. Lorin S. Robert, Deputy Secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs, and Mr. Bernard Thoulag, Executive Director of NORMA.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356