Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

Third FSM Constitutional Convention, Day 19

POHNPEI, Palikir (FSM Information Service): November 30, 2001 - The Third FSM Constitutional Convention has technically begun its recess today, pursuant to Delegate Resolution No. 01-5 , which calls for a recess from December 2nd to the 9th of December in order for the delegates to go back for consultation in their respective States. With the necessary departure of the Kosrae State Delegation today, no quorum would be possible even if the other delegates would want to meet tomorrow, based on the Convention's Rules of Procedures, which calls for at least eight delegates provided at least half of each delegation is present.

Before the Kosrae State Delegation had to leave the Chamber to catch their flight, the Convention was able to take action on some Proposals and Resolutions. Resolution No. 01-9, requesting the President of the FSM and the Speaker of the 12th Congress to call for a special session of the Congress to consider extending the length of the convention and provide additional funding for the extension, was introduced but then deferred to when the Convention returns from its recess.

The proposal deferred from yesterday to today in the Committee of the Whole (COW), C.P. No. 01-3, to extend the time-frame for submitting to FSM voters the question of whether to have a constitutional convention or not, cleared the COW, but met deferment during Second Reading. The COW also deferred action on C.P. Nos. 01-5, which proposes to amend Section 6(b) of Article XI of the Constitution regarding jurisdiction of the FSM Supreme Court trial division when interests in land are at issue, and C.P. No. 01-6, which proposes to amend Section 2 of Article V of the Constitution regarding the protection of traditions of the people of the FSM.

Convention also adopted three Resolutions today. D.R. Nos. 01-6, 01-7, 01-8 and 01-10, expressed gratitude and appreciation to Governor Vincent Figir and Speaker Robert Ruecho, of Yap State, to Governor Rensley A. Sigrah and Speaker Hiteo Shrew, of Kosrae State, for making some of their staff available for use of the Third Constitutional Convention of the FSM; and to Governor Johnny P. David and Speaker Feliciano M. Perman, of Pohnpei State, for making some of their staff and equipment available for use by the Third FSM Constitution Convention. Convention deferred action on the adoption of D.R. No. 01-8, expressing gratitude and appreciation to President Susan J. Moses and the College of Micronesia-FSM Board of Regents, for generously allowing Delegate John R. Haglelgam to participate in the Convention, to make technical corrections.

The Convention was declared recessed at 12:30 p.m. until 2:00 o'clock p.m. on December 10, 2001.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356