Government of the Federated States of Micronesia

National elections office details upcoming election

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): December 16, 2004 - The Office of the National Elections Director has set March 8 2005 for the General Election for the two-year seats in the Thirteenth Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia.

Deadlines and details of the 2005 Election, as announced by Office, are as follows:

  1. January 7, 2005 - Deadline for absentee ballot request
  2. February 6, 2005 - Deadline for voting at special polling place request

Voters previously registered for the special polling places during the past two elections need not reapply.

While voting will be held at the following locations, the Office of National Elections Director will be provide specific designations at a later date:

FSM: The four States and the College of Micronesia/FSM

Abroad: Guam, Saipan, Honolulu, Maui, Kona, Hilo, Seattle WA, Kansas City MO and Portland, OR

The specifics on the General Elections can be obtained through the elections offices in each state or through the following addresses: Chuuk -, Kosrae -, Pohnpei -, and Yap -

The candidates registered for the March 2005 Elections are:


D1: 1. Henry C. Asugar (I), 2. Lander Simor 3. Peter S. Sitan;

D2: 1. Anna W. Mijares, 2. Manikis Manny Sonis, 3. Roosevelt D. Kansou (I), 4. Tesime Kofot;

D3: 1. Sabino S. Asor (I), 2. Simiram Sipenuk;

D4: 1. Tiwiter Aritos (I), 2. Willie W-3 Williander;

D5: 1. Adanasio Smith, 2. Masachiro Christlib, 3. Moses A. Nelson (I).


D1: 1. Claude H. Phillip (I), 2. Patterson Benjamin


D1: 1. Dohsis Halbert (I);

D2: 1. Dion G. Neth (I), 2. Herman P. Semes, 3. Ponsper Martin;

D3: 1. Peter M. Christian (I).


D1: 1. Isaac V. Figir (I), 2. Fidelis Thiyer.

For further information on this release, please contact:

FSM Office of the President
Public Information: Press, Radio, Video
P.O Box 34
Palikir Station, Pohnpei, FM 96941
Tel.: (691) 320-2548/2092
Fax.: (691) 320-4356